Effective July 1, 2023, many cities throughout CA will see an increase in their minimum wage. While the CA state minimum wage has adjusted annually on January 1 the last several years, many CA cities and counties increase their minimum wage each July. Below is a list of some of the cities that will see an increased minimum wage effective July 1 (this is not
Minimum Wage Increases Effective July 1, COVID Developments, and Other Mid-Year Employment Law Updates
California employers should be aware of a number of major developments in the employment laws applicable to the second half of 2022, including: Minimum Wage Increases While the CA state minimum wage has adjusted annually on January 1 the last several years, many CA cities and counties increase their minimum wage each July. Below is a list of some of the cities that will see
As we look ahead to the new year, below is a summary of several updates to the employment laws in California, some of which have already gone into effect and others of which are effective January 1, 2021. The following is an overview of some of the key changes California employers should be aware of, which will require handbook and/or policy updates to remain in
The California Legislature, local city councils, and other lawmakers have been busy over the last several months passing a number of laws that will impact the employment landscape. Below is an overview of some of the key changes to be aware of as we head into 2017: 1. New I-9 Form: By January 21, 2017, employers must start using a new I-9 form prepared by the U.S.
A new law increasing California’s minimum wage to $15 per hour applies to all businesses with employees in California – and not just to those employing minimum wage workers. The law, available here, implements a phased approach to increasing the statewide minimum wage and distinguishes between employers with 26 or more employees and employers with 25 or fewer employees, giving these smaller employers one additional year to
On September 25, 2013, Governor Jerry Brown signed into law a bill increasing the minimum wage from $8 per hour to $9 per hour effective July 1, 2014 and to $10 per hour effective January 1, 2016. California employers who employ minimum-wage earners should put a plan into place to be in compliance with this law as of the applicable effective dates. In addition, because